THE SALSA ~ Dance of love

FOR THE FIRST PART OF THE STORY, click here:
https://euphoricwrites.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/the-salsa-divine-rhythm/

“We decided to go to Rainbow Treat that day, to have dinner. That name came out after careful planning because we needed a safe zone where we wouldn’t be recognized by any. But the fate had a final laugh that day. “Akash!?” someone called me from behind. It was my elder sister who called me. We had a serious fight almost two months ago and we were not talking since then. And suddenly out of nowhere, we were discussing all the things in the world and filling up the voids left in our lives for these two months. Shalini explained her everything, while I was busy eating momos! Once again, everything in my life was back into place.  It may just be the coincidences all over, but I feel that she is the lucky charm of my life. Whenever she’s with me, nothing can go wrong. Even if something goes wrong, she always makes it right! Not far from that day, I invited her to my house and after lot of hesitation, she agreed to it. My room was just existing till that day and her presence made it magical! For the first time in my life, I had three most important women of my life together and my happiness had no limits! My life was never unhappy, but after her entry, it just became euphoric!”

Half way through the performance, everything was just going perfect! I was performing to my favourite song with the most important person of my life and what could possibly go wrong! She hugged me from behind and wrapped her hands around my chest. I lifted her in that position, stood on the toes on one leg and we made the soft turns with the streak of six and our hearts filled with pride as the crowd cheered for us like never before. Immediately after that, we performed a rapid unwrap and as she twirled away from me, I just couldn’t help but notice for the zillionth time how beautiful she was looking! She was wearing a stunning blue dress which had a perfect fit onto her body. She was looking like a blue orchid falling from the tree, rotating due to the gentle breeze. Suddenly, bandage under my feet tore off and the injury, which I had during the accident in our Semi Finals, has started stinging like hell! As our dance reached the final minute, memories of the first proposal recurred to me.

“No one can stop us from havin’ it all,
you are my heart, you are my soul” 

 

“It has been three hours since she had called me to inform that she is leaving for her home. Since then, she wasn’t picking up the calls, nor was she replying to my messages. I called her friend Ananya and my heart sank when she said that Shalini met with an accident and injured her leg severely! After dressing up, she was taken to her home to take bed rest. I wanted to meet her, but in India, a boy can’t just walk into a girl’s home, no matter how good friends they are! I called up Ananya and explained her the situation and she agreed to take me to her home the next day. It was hard to see her in such a situation. We all talked for an hour and Ananya left. We both started talking on many random topics and suddenly she asked, “Akash, when do you know that you have fallen in love?” and I almost immediately replied, “When a walk turns into walk to remember” and asked her to come for a walk with me. Despite the injury, she agreed to it and I just realized how lucky I am, to have such a wonderful and loving person in my life! It was just a casual walk and we talked about many things. My sister always used to make fun of me that I would never get a girl whose personality matches with me, as my mentality is an old fashioned one and such type of girls are hard to find! During this walk, I realized that my sister has never been more wrong. Shalini was just like me! Later that day, we were video chatting, as per our daily routine. We talked for almost two hours and then she said “I just have one more thing to say to you. I love you!” I was not surprised, but was very calm for a minute or two! I just couldn’t believe that the person who understands me very well than any other, is coming into my life and I knew that she won’t leave me for ever and ever! I understood that if I miss this opportunity, I will forever have a void in my life. I said, “Ms Shalini, now that you have said this, I would like to go forward and say yes, I am in love with you! The time spent with you was great and time freezes when we are together and I want it to be frozen forever! I will never regret saying that I have fallen for you.” Then she said the most important sentence of my life, “I will never let you fall, Mr. Akash!”

My leg started to pain really hard and I had to be extra careful in my expressions, so that Shalini would not notice what was going on. I knew that she would never continue with the dance if she finds out. But this is her dream! I can endure the pain for a minute for the girl who walked with me for an hour just a day after her accident. I continued with the dance thinking only about all the precious memories she has given me and how perfect my life has been because of her. I knew that there is going to be a serious scolding session when she finds out but I can handle that to see the happiness in her eyes if we win the prize! Unluckily, almost all the movements in the last minute included severe leg twisting moves and it was becoming more and more difficult for me to control my pain. I have managed to complete the dance, but had to stay away from dancing for a year more. But that’s a different story.

“Your heart will be mine,
all I need is the look in your eyes,
Viva la musica,
Say you’ll be mine”

 I have achieved what I strived for. Her beautiful kohl lined eyes were moist with happiness when our names were announced for the second prize. It was a huge achievement. After one year, it took me four months to get back into shape and rhythm. We won countless awards and unlimited fame after that. But till date, she remains my most prized possession! “Dear Shalini, I am affected, affectionate and addicted to you, for now and forever.”

 

Leave a comment