THE SALSA ~ The first step (Shalini’s)

Though it comes prior to the other parts of the story in chronological order, it is advised to read the other parts first as this is just a “character intro” narrative.

For the main story, go to
https://euphoricwrites.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/the-salsa-divine-rhythm/

2

“Hmph! I am never talking to her again, she’s such a trat” I yelled to myself.

“Hey, Shalini. Why are you so upset?” enquired my brother.

“I don’t want to be a part of that irritating gang anymore. They are so mean. I hate them, I hate them all”.

“Don’t worry Shal, these things happen. You need to chill out about these things.”

“As if you care! I don’t want to talk anyone, not even you. Go away!”

I shut the door. However rude I was, I used to realize my mistake very soon. I did then too. I knew I did upset my brother and I also knew what would cool him up. I cooked him his favourite Chicken Manchuria and he melted down faster than the cheese toppings on the pieces did.

“You are so sweet. But a miracle is needed to make you think rationally all the time” he exclaimed! It was true! All I cared was about myself and the old classics of Bollywood.

Months flew by and as I joined college, I grew from a rude, insensitive person to the cautious, timid girl. Over the past few years, I had suffered enough because of the lack of my ability to judge a person. This made me think extra carefully about every single thing, especially about people. In addition to all this, everything about the college used to creep me out! I decided to stay away from all this filth, especially from those netas and drunkards as I found them both equally dangerous! As I became completely indifferent to the feeling of affection, stroke of a perfection changed me. If all that we want is rain, why do we love drizzles and hate storms? If all that we want is stroke of air caressing us, why do we love breezes and hate tornados? It’s because overdoing or underdoing of things doesn’t bring us happiness. All the time, we crave for perfection! I used to think that when we find a perfect soul mate, we get connected instantly! But I was wrong. Love is like a wild fire, you never know how it started, but before you realize what’s happening, you are surrounded with the blazing fire of love! It happens to you when you expect the least. Those were the days when I was at the rock bottom of my expectations and alas, I was swept away by love!

October 6, 2012:
It was just another normal day, which kept on reminding me why I hate people so much, except for my first encounter of love! I didn’t know at that time that he is going to be my life. It really was one of the silliest ways to meet a person. I thought I forgot the moment and it doesn’t matter much in my life. But later on, when we fell in love, I realized that all the steps and moves I make daily, turned into dance! That night, I, with my family went to the lake and we released helium balloons carrying lamps into the sky, as a part of our tradition for Diwali. As they did rise up into the dark sky, I realized how unimportant and unnoticed something becomes when it drifts far away from us. But also, I had a feeling that, somewhere far away, someone was watching the sky and being filled with excitement as they found the sky lighten up a bit. Just then a smile curled onto my lips as I received a text from Akash, “Sorry for today and good night”

_______________________________________________________

“It was a million tiny little things that, when you added them all up, they meant we were supposed to be together… and I knew it.” – Tom Hanks, Sleepless In Seattle

Leave a comment