THE SALSA ~ The first tune (Akash’s)

Though it comes prior to the other parts of the story in chronological order, it is advised to read the other parts first as this is just a “character intro” narrative.

For the main story, go to
https://euphoricwrites.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/the-salsa-divine-rhythm/

__________________________________________________________________________

1


It was a Saturday night and just like everyone else, I too was facing the biggest trouble of my life- pleading my sister to give me the TV remote. I knew can’t watch that life sucking “Saawariya” for one more time and my sis would never miss a chance to glue her eyes to TV, when Ranbir is onscreen. She said, “Ranbir is the most romantic hero of Indian Cinema”. I giggled, because I know no one can ever be better than the king of romance and when he spreads his arms wide and intensifies his facial expressions, he is irresistible to watch. 
“I disagree, there cannot be anyone greater than SRK and I just love his 90’s movies. They are masterpieces.”

“Okay grandpa, whatever you say! Just let me watch this movie.”

I snatched the remote and finally I got to watch my all-time favourite, “Kuch kuch hota hai”

“I pity for you, because you never are going to get a girl who has similar tastes as you, old fashioned, fairy tale lover and 90’s Bollywood freak” she said, storming off into the kitchen to false complain that I did hit her for the TV remote. At the end, I had to give in to her treachery as every younger one in the house does often. But this time, more than the lost remote, her words hurt me a lot.

 Months flew by and in our college, I became the first neta of our batch who did not crave for that title. But with great power comes great responsibilities (or great frustrations). On one side, my sister’s words were troubling me and on the other, these frustrations. I have decided to use the most powerful weapon- to move on. It was difficult but I diverted my mind with dance and other college events. You’ll have a better glimpse of the world around you when you stop chasing anything, may it be power or love! Why do we love our parents so much? Because we don’t choose them, because our relationship is a stroke of destiny in the canvas of life and because we accept each other, despite our flaws. Destiny had something special for everyone and it gifts you with that special moment when you clear your mind of all your desires. When I moved on completely, destiny gifted me too, except for the fact that the gift was more special than anything given to any person in the whole world. The gift was love!

 

October 6, 2012:

It was my day, it was the day which made every other day in my life very special! I chatted with her many times before but it was the day which brought her grace into the dance of my life. It was not a stand out encounter and was just like an everyday clichéd moment. But then, moments are made special by the person in it and she is dearer to me than my life! That night, as I laid down on my terrace and looked up into the darkness of the sky, I felt that there was something special about it that day, may be it is lightened up a bit more than usual, as Diwali is nearby. Whatever it was, I felt special and dozed off texting Shalini, “Sorry for today and good night”.

“Love is a smoke raised with the fume of sighs; 
Being purged, a fire sparkling in lovers’ eyes; 
Being vex’d a sea nourish’d with lovers’ tears: 
What is it else? a madness most discreet, 
A choking gall and a preserving sweet. ” 

~Shakespeare

 

Leave a comment