ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND

“Often the hearts of men and women are stirred, as likewise they are soothed in their sorrows more by example than by words. And therefore… am I now minded to write of the sufferings which have sprung out of my misfortunes…”

#This love story would have been equally admired as those of Romio- Juliet, Saleem- Anarkali etc., if the lovers killed themselves at the end! But I rate this as a better one, than the tragic suicidal love stories.#

QUICK RECAP: “Ecstasy Trek” is a first person story telling of the adventures of a person who had recently discovered the working of a Soul Extractor that he did found 2 years back. Some restrictions and many set of rules are no where a  trouble,when you consider the thrill of the adventures in front of you. After his first tragic journey into the death of a famous philosopher, he sets out in the pursue of a love story.
For previous episode, go to  https://euphoricwrites.wordpress.com/2014/01/24/ecstasytrek2/

Talk about love and people imagine the story going on in one place- Paris. But in real life, it is hard to have a perfect love experience- perfect backdrop, perfect soul-mate or at least a perfect story. Not everyone gets it and I am one hell of a lucky person to experience the completeness of it.   There goes my second journey- into the romantic land of Paris and violent times of the 12th century. 

The first thing I realized was that I seemed to have a high intelligence, which was a new experience to me after all the D grades I got in my college. And why wouldn’t I feel intelligent! I’m thinking with the brains of the great philosopher, Peter Abelard! Second, I became aware that the childhood fantasy of dressing in a medieval fashion was not worth it, with all the “open spaces” in the attire making me feel uncomfortable. As I opened my eyes for the first time in the body of Abelard, I was shocked at the sight of hundreds of papers attached to the wall! Some were maps, some were sketches of a girl, but most of them were letters, unaddressed.

I proceeded to read one of the letters which went on like this, “You know, beloved, as the whole world knows, how much I have lost in you, how at one wretched stroke of fortune that supreme act of flagrant treachery robbed me of my very self in robbing me of you; and how my sorrow for my loss is nothing compared with what I feel for the manner in which I lost you.” A tear rolled down my cheek as I read that letter, which was ready to be sent! My mind became aware of many things that “I” lost in the pursue of love. As I concentrated more and more, images of the past flew through my mind.

There was Heloise, There was love, there was sex, there was a child birth, there was an eloping, there was parting and then THERE WAS AGONY. Heloise’s uncle hired thugs to castrate Abelard. Then begun the true great love story, which defied all the wrong impressions that a man and a woman are meant to love only because of the natural hormones and that has got nothing to do with heart! There was no meeting after that, only letters served the purpose of being in love. Some were explanations, some were apologies, but most of them were just portrayals of true love towards each other. After castration, they haven’t met for their whole lives, but their love towards each other kept on growing. What happened next is history!

I couldn’t stay in his body anymore. No one deserves to experience such a true love unless they deserve it! And I did nothing in my life to deserve so. This little trip may not have given me a chance to live his life for a day, but it has changed by opinion about love and gave it a new definition. I laid on the bed, closed my eyes and dozed off to sleep…

…to be continued.

Leave a comment