THE SALSA ~ Divine Rhythm

Our hearts were racing fast, even before the start of the salsa! We have come this far and one final blast of a performance is all we need and for that, we have decided to choose the dance form which we love and which was a part of our love story- Salsa.

“Welcome with a huge round of applause, our final performers of the day- Akash and Shalini” came the announcement and we hugged each other. With lots of confidence and more love, we proceeded towards the stage, the memories of our first meeting revived in me.

“We have first met in a college event. There were no special signs, there was no sweeping off my feet and not at all was there the falling in love at first sight. Our first meeting was just a compilation of a ‘no eye contact’ conversation, a few nautanki gags, some group laughs and many apologies. I have known her on the Facebook for some days and even after our first meeting, I had absolutely no idea how important is she going to be in my life!”

Our emotions were hanging between awe-struck and pride when we stepped forward to a huge crowd and waved to them. We have chosen to perform on the song which we have dreamt of performing on, for years: “Rhythm Divine”. As the music started playing in the background, I held her waist and held her weight as she bent backwards looking into my eyes. No matter how many times I look into those beautiful eyes, which fade out the beauty of pearls in the oysters, I always feel my heart racing. That was our entry pose. As the crowd begun to float away in the beautiful lyrics, my body started making rhythmic moments and my thoughts began to melt down in her pretty eyes, deep into the memories of our first bike ride.  “Escucha el ritmo de tu Corazon. Feel the rhythm.”

“Our little dance group planned a trip and we both wanted to ride off together, even though we were not in a relationship at that stage. It seemed as if something always connected us. When in a group, we never used to talk and always conveyed the messages just through the eye contact! Coming back to the ride, it is never an easy task to take a ride the girl, especially if the friends around you have absolutely no idea that you were even talking to that girl! But, as they say, when you are determined to do something, you have to achieve it by any means. We manipulated our group in such a way that we two are the only ones left with a single bike and tried to look helpless too! That worked. Besides my sister, she was the first and only girl who ever sat on the back seat while I drove. Nothing was either too magical or too filmy. It’s just that life was feeling complete with this girl. Our chats which were short, hesitant and in fb before our first meeting were converted into lengthy, desirable and in mobile; all thanks to the misunderstanding that we are going to paired in the college prom dance. It never happened, but we were paired for life! We were not in a relationship yet, but we just couldn’t sleep before hearing each other’s’ voices and about each other’s day for one last time for one last time of the day! After that, there were many a times when we went out to eat and after every time we did, our bond just grew stronger! We began to realize how similar our mentalities are. We even take turns to pay the bills when we go out: No debts, only pure friendship!”

 

One thing we have decided to implement in the finale is that we decided to avoid any unnecessary lifts and jumps and make it as full of love as possible. At the end of the first minute, I was no longer in a mind-set that we are performing! It was just feeling as if we were surfing on the high tides of delicate emotions and memories, in the sea of love! As I held her hand above my head and she swirled around me, her beautiful curly hair strands brushed my face. With every moment that passes in my life, I feel more confident that we are as inseparable as the Guitar chords are in a Salsa instrumental! I once again rolled into the memories of the time when Shalini met my sister for the first time! 

“From the moment, I first saw you,
knew my heart could not be free,
had to hold you in my arms,
there can never be another for me”

 

… To be continued.

FOR THE SECOND PART OF THE STORY, go to:

https://euphoricwrites.wordpress.com/2014/03/28/the-salsa-dance-of-love/

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “THE SALSA ~ Divine Rhythm”

Leave a comment